The Best Music in Movies

If you’ve read my last blog post, you would know that I have a strong appreciation for both films and music. In my opinion, a movie that is accompanied with great songs is the perfect combination of entertainment.

It only makes sense that I would compile a list of my favourite films with great soundtracks.

#1. Dazed and Confused (1993)


I cannot even begin to thank the director, Richard Linklater, for all of the songs featured in this amazing film. Over 30 songs were played in Dazed and Confused to accompany the film’s setting of the year 1976, and, in addition, remember all of the great music that had been released in that decade. Fun fact : over 1/6 of the film’s production budget went towards its soundtrack. Personally, the main reason I appreciate the use of music in this movie is the memories of listening to these exact songs while growing up.

#2. Palo Alto (2013)


In all honesty, I decided to view this film just to watch James Franco in a movie I had very low expectations for. However, I really enjoyed this coming of age film that explores adolescence in the dreamy city of Palo Alto. Maybe I liked this film a little more than I should have, as I found myself relating to characters and the situations they were faced with. But what really stood out while viewing this film was not only the instrumentals of indie music creating the perfect atmosphere for this film, but also the songs chosen in the background of all the events taking place.

#3. Diary of a Teenage Girl (2015)


This film takes place in 1974’s San Francisco and includes an amazing selection of (not so well-known) songs from that specific time. I’m assuming that by now the majority of my music taste has been revealed to consist of songs from this period of time and thus I am expected to favour a film with such a setting. But the truth is that I loved this film for not only its great soundtrack but especially for the characters in this movie as well. I related so much to the main character in this film and am very grateful that this movie was released when both the main character and myself shared the same age.

#4. The Devils Rejects (2003)

This film should probably not be viewed by those who are sensitive to mature and graphic content, but if you are comfortable with films of such nature, definitely consider watching this horror movie for its great selection of music. Favourites from this film include the use of Terry Reid’s ‘To Be Treated Rite’ and the timeless song chosen for the epic ending of this film.

#5. Perks of Being a Wallflower (2011)


Based on Stephen Chbosky’s book of the same title, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of a troubled boy experiencing his first year of high school. This film includes a compilation of great songs such as David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’ and a continual praise for The Smiths throughout the film. Overall, I enjoyed every aspect of this movie and would greatly recommend it to any individual who hasn’t yet seen this film.

Until next time,
v.t.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

